Consumer Payment Card News

Euro Cheques

Effective January 1, 1999, eleven countries adopted the Euro as their official currency: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. The new currency will be phased in over the next three years, with no local currencies or local currency travelers cheques being sold after June 30, 2002.
Effective January 4, 1999, American Express euro-denominated travelers cheques will be available at American Express travel service offices, AAA clubs, and select financial institutions nationwide. The cheques will be available in denominations of 50, 100 and 200 euro, and will carry acceptance instructions in English, French and German. During the three-year transition period, American Express will continue to offer travelers cheques denominated in local currencies as well as the euro.

Travelers to the euro-zone will find the American Express euro-denominated travelers cheques an extremely convenient product, because it allows them to travel with travelers cheques in only one currency, saving on the cost of changing money between various foreign currencies. Also, the cheques include the same security features as on the U.S. dollar-denominated $50, $100, $500 and $1000 travelers cheques, including colorful holographic foil displaying images of a Centurion, alternating with the American Express Blue Box logo and euro denominations, an embedded security thread and a Centurion watermark.

One of the most popular features of the American Express travelers cheques is that they are replaceable if lost or stolen. American Express research indicates that travelers rated travelers cheques very safe more often than any other type of payment, including credit and debt cards and cash.

Find out more about American Express by visiting their Web site at

Leave A Reply